Meet Our Members: Sue Meyer


My first visit to Vienna was a look-see trip for 3 weeks in March whilst my husband, Bob, and I searched for an apartment and prepared for our permanent move in late April. Having worked in the Oil and Gas business for 40 years with most of the major Oil Companies, Bob started a new job in a new location with a new company, OMV. Hopefully, this will be his last gig.

As an Expat in the UK, I was a member of both the American Women of Berkshire and Surrey (AWBS) and the American Women’s Club of London (AWC). These international groups provided me the opportunity to meet so many ladies and enjoy all the events and outings.

I was so happy to Google find an AWA in Vienna. I met some members at the Welcome Coffee on Wednesday mornings, and I had the chance to embrace a little of the Vienna life style and culture for what will be our new home for the next 3 to 5 years.

How I ended up in Vienna

A little bit about me! I was born in Newcastle and raised in North Yorkshire, England, where I also ran a Freelance Hairdressing Business for 15 years and started a family.This is my 11th overseas move in 19 years. Starting in 1999, I moved from the UK to Newfoundland, then back to the UK where Bob and I married. We shuttled back and forth between the UK and Houston, Calgary, London, Newfoundland, California, Maryland, and now Vienna. Along the way Bob and I have bought homes in Paradise, Newfoundland and Bordeaux, France which we are now renting out whilst being based in Vienna. We still have to decide where we will base ourselves when Bob retires.

Family matters

Bob and I have been married for 12 years and have 5 girls between us; Bob has 2 who live in London and Huddersfield and I have 3 living in Newfoundland, Houston and Bordeaux). We have 3 grandchildren and 3 nephews.

How I keep busy

I am 57 years young- age is just a number to me- and I love yoga, having discovered Aerial/ Anti Gravity Yoga, a combination of Pilates, Yoga poses and dance, all with the use of a hammock. I also go to the gym and run, completing 3 half marathons, and play golf and tennis. Listening to live music, dancing, drinking wine, eating out, visiting theatres, museums and art galleries, plus walking, hiking and travelling keeps me very busy. I love a new challenge but within reason-I would not bungee jump or parachute!

And so to more fun here

Now that I am back from Newfoundland where I finished packing up our personal items and have moved into the new apartment in the 7th district, I look forward to meeting new people, making new friends, and enjoying life to the fullest.